KILLING THE WHITE BIRD   Leave a comment

In 1954 when I went to Camp Pendleton in Southern California I saw Birds of Paradise growing wild and fell in love with them. Though it didn’t have an aroma it was a spectacular looking flower with vivid colors of orange and purple. It wasn’t until I moved into Gateway in 1999 that I first discovered there was a white Bird of Paradise. Behind building C there was a 3 story high Bird of Paradise full of blooms and it continuously bloomed all year round. It was cut back a bit 2 years ago and did even better. Very few people knew about it.

The other day when I came home, going to the elevator, I saw Estaban, one of the maintenance men, doing what I thought was a trimming of the tree. The next day, aghast, I saw it had been completely hacked to the ground and then followed a ‘pass the buck’ routine. I asked Estaban why he did that and he said to go ask Suzanne, the administrator, and she told me that she didn’t know what I was talking about and would have to see it. She has been here 3 years and didn’t know about that tree?!?!?

Aside from being a magnificent tree it was the only white Bird of Paradise in Gateway and the whole Victoria Park area! I went to the head of maintenance, Luis, and he said he got orders from Orlando people when they were down here. I had been upset when, supposedly, accidentally they pulled up the avocado tree I was growing from a seed that had reached 6 feet but this was outrageous. I know it was too late to do anything about it but I certainly let my displeasure be known.

Now I pass by every day hoping to see a little green shoot coming out of the stub of the tree–there is hope as long as they don’t pull out the remainder!

Posted September 4, 2013 by greatmartin in Uncategorized

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

