“THE GRAND BUDAPEST HOTEL”–MOVIE REVIEW   Leave a comment

Every year I get caught up in the buzz of a film or two, sometimes even three, and as I walk out of the theatre I wonder if I saw the same film the buzzers did. After seeing “The Grand Budapest Hotel” I came home and read about a dozen reviews as I prefer reading reviews after I have seen a film,  and I will admit up front I am certainly in the minority regarding Wes Anderson‘s latest picture.

The sets, costumes, production values covering 36-40 years, from the 1930s to the 1960s are all first class and I fell in love with the funicular going up the mountain. Anderson directs at the right pace for a farce but in the screenplay, with Hugo Guinness, he tries to cover too many different aspects of a world in change.

Ralph Fiennes is the center of the picture in a different role than he usually takes and he becomes the character making the film a little easier to follow. He is surrounded by many professional  actors such as an almost unrecognizable Jude Law along with a very aged, with makeup, Tilda Swinton plus F. Murray Abraham, Adrien Brody, Edward Norton, Owen Wilson and Bill Murray just to name a few and newcomers Tony Revolori and Saoirse Ronan playing pivotal roles but this is Fiennes’s film.

Though I won’t recommend this film I have to tell you Allen liked it and I did hear a couple of laughs from other audience members.

Posted March 22, 2014 by greatmartin in Uncategorized

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

