FIRSTWATCH–THE DAYTIME CAFE–FORT LAUDERDALE–REVIEW   Leave a comment

Having been a server for over 38 years the last thing I would do would be to walk in a place that is closing in 10 minutes, but, unaware, that is just what I did. When I realized what I had done I apologized to our server Lindsay and she explained that it wasn’t a problem as she still had side work to do and there were still 3 other parties who hadn’t finished. She won me right there with her attitude !

So there is no misunderstanding the restaurant is open 7 AM-2:30 PM!

The restaurant itself is spacious and overlooks a plaza with a water fountain and as you approach the plaza there is a huge mural depicting a sunny Florida sky. The whole Sea Ranch Center is very inviting and there is plenty of free parking.

As large and as inviting as the FirstWatch in inside they also have an attractive large space for dining outside.
The menu is attractive and makes you want to try everything starting with the Siesta Key Cocktail or the Pesto Chicken Quinoa Bowl. We didn’t want to keep them any longer than we had to so I ordered the Reuben (($7.99) and Allen had the open face Chicken salad melt ($7.99) both served with an order of soup or salad. Our drinks, his diet soda and my coffee, were $2.39 each and the latter served in a steel carafe. The check came to $22.01 including tax plus tip. I don’t remember where I got it but I had a 2-4-1 coupon so the check was finally $13.54. Due to Lindsay’ attitude, especially when she mentioned she was off to another job and didn’t rush us, and knowing we kept her a little later we left her a $10 tip, well worth it.

A friend mentioned looking for some good Eggs Benedict and without hesitation I recommend The FirstWatch, ‘the daytime café‘, to her!

Posted July 12, 2014 by greatmartin in DINING REVIEW

Leave a Reply

