Be sure to read part 1 to understand what this is about.

12) All kinds of beautiful kites on the beach–falcons, airplanes, parrots, etc.
14) I am getting a lot of sleep, a great tan and doing a lot of walking
15 Still haven’t quite figured out the money–so I am saving a lot–I eat in the hotel restaurant and sign the tab–don’t know what a meal costs but U tip 10 cruzeiros ($1.60?) and so far all waiters have aid thank you–will charge hotel bill to Diners or American Express when I leave. I hope pesos are easier to figure out.

An aside–is The Diners Club still in business and have a credit card? Important lesson when traveling–learn the rate of exchange between countries, though as you will read I was lead astray.

16) Haven’t bought any souvenirs yet as I will be coming back to Rio and will do it then. Did go into a record store hoping to buy some Brazilian singers and musicians records but just got an Olga Guillot recording and she is Cuban, but I do love her singing.
17) So far the man and car who met me at the airport didn’t come to take me sightseeing–not taking any chances tomorrow when I leave for Buenos Aires–won’t wait for driver, taking a taxi (hope I don’t’ tip him $50!) I fly Cruziero airlines tomorrow–hope it isn’t as confusing as the money!
18) If I could get the ‘parent’ off my back and let the ‘free kid’ out a bit more I wouldn’t just be having good time but a great time–when I get back to Memphis I will have to work wit Joe on that.
An explanation–I was going through therapy–Transactional Analysis at that time–you may have heard of it as “I’m Okay, You’re Okay” and it really helped me with the rest of my life.
19) I come back to Rio on the 27th–will then go sightseeing (Sugar Loaf, Corcovado, Tipica Forest, etc.) and get some souvenirs. Rio is expensive as far as I can figure out and so far doesn’t look like any ‘bargains’ in jewelry and I haven’t seen any that thrills me. (At that time I was very big into collecting rings, chains, etc.)
20) I am looking forward to Buenos Aires as I think I’ll really like that city even though temperatures are suppose to be in the 40s.
21) To sum up–Rio is okay but nothing like I imagined.
22) “I miss you–haven’t heard “Look of Love” once yet bit I whistle it ( It was ‘our song’ as song by Sergio Mendez, the world famous musician.)

Next on the Itinerary was: Departs Rio 5:30 PM arrives 8:05 PM–will stay at the Plaza Hotel–Chauffer driven car will pick you up at the airport and on the 20th for a day of sightseeing.

But before we get to Buenos Aires let me tell a few things–PG rated–about Rio that I skipped in the numbers up above or just didn’t number.