IN THE SPIRIT OF THE SEASON   Leave a comment

(GATEWAY OFFICE)

Am I lucky?

I am 79 years old. I had congestive heart failure in 2000 and in 2008 had an aorta valve replacement. I have had about 6 stents put into my legs. I have been diagnosed with: Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease (COPD), Peripheral Artery Disease (also called peripheral arterial disease PAD), high cholesterol, high blood pressure, diabetes 2, psoriasis, diabetes 2, among other problems. I take 14 medicines every day plus 2 ‘as needed’.

And yet I look and act healthy and except for trouble with my legs when it comes to walking you would never know I had any problems.

I have had weight problems most of my life losing 100+ pounds when I was 31 and fight 25-30 pounds almost constantly. I smoked 2-3 packs of cigarettes a day for almost 60 years finally quitting in 2008 and haven‘t missed it since. I was a very heavy drinker finally realizing in 1981 I was an alcoholic and haven’t had a drink since. I abused my body with bad food, smoking, drinking, not exercising, among other things and, yet, here I am at 79 living a full life.

By all rights I should be very sick or even dead but I’m still here looking forward to waking up tomorrow morning ready to face the world and enjoy another day.

Am I lucky, or what, that “I’m Still Here” (as written by Stephen Sondheim.) And yes I know all the references! LOL

This version is sung by Yvonne DeCarlo who introduced this song on Broadway in “Follies” in 1971.

Posted December 9, 2014 by greatmartin in Uncategorized

Tagged with

Leave a Reply

