NOW THAT SHRIMP IS SAFE TO EAT…   Leave a comment


Now that it has been decided that shellfish, though high in cholesterol is not bad for you because of not having any saturated or trans fat it is time for me to go back to eating it–like I ever stopped! (By the way keep in mind it is high in sodium!)

I don’t usually post recipes but this is so easy and s-o-o-o-o-o good! To think I use to take two days to make this recipe from scratch!

Actually I don’t know how or why but I had all the following ingredients so I decided to go the easy way and make shrimp and linguini in white clam sauce. I use to make it from scratch but with a crockpot this was simple.
Ingredients:
12 ounces of cooked shrimp peeled and deveined
10 ounces frozen mixed vegetables
16 ounce portion sized package of linguini
15 ounce can of white clam sauce
Parmesan cheese topping (Though some chefs would have a fit if you put cheese on shellfish I am not one of them!)

Cook linguini in crockpot and then drain. Add veggies and after 15 minutes add clam sauce. Last 5 minutes add shrimp.

I then divided it into 4 portions, only because of the sodium, which I put in the freezer. Normally I would just eat the whole at one sitting. When I am ready to eat I’ll make a salad with Romaine lettuce, green peppers, onion, tomato and an Italian dressing.

A portion: 656 calories 952 mg of sodium 165 mg cholesterol 32 grams protein 6 grams of fiber 2 grams of saturated fat 15 grams of fat


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dfrZILAaw58&feature=youtu.be


Posted February 18, 2015 by greatmartin in RECIPES

Tagged with , , ,

Leave a Reply

