I still am not doing IT after 7 years!   1 comment


It is really hard to believe that 7 years ago this week I had my last cigarette. I had been smoking since I was 12–to appear older and sophisticated!!–59 years. Though I started out slowly after the age of 17 until 2008 I smoked 2-3 packs a day!!

I never even thought of quitting. In fact over the New Year’s weekend of 1999-2000 I had congestive heart failure and as soon as I recovered, still in the hospital, I snuck out for a cigarette.

On July 21. 2008, I was going from my hospital room to the operation room to have an aorta valve replacement procedure and before I was wheeled away I had a cigarette, put it out and it was the last cigarette I would ever have up to the moment I am writing this.

I didn’t have any problem quitting nor do I remember even making the decision to quit. There were no withdrawal systems, being around people who smoke didn’t/doesn’t bother me.

Ironically last year, Gateway, where I live, started a no smoking rule anywhere on the property including your own apartment which I know I wouldn’t have been able to follow and would have been found out and probably kicked out! And now with all the laws regarding no smoking I picked a good time to stop!

I do miss smoking every now and then, like when I am at the computer, but in a second that desire passes (now if that would only happen in my sex life!!)

I consider myself very lucky as though I have COPD and PAD from all those years of smoking I am not walking around attached to an oxygen tank as many here do.

Here it is 7 years later and I am still waiting for my taste buds to come back as they say happens when you quit smoking or, maybe, I never lost them.

Though there is that ‘nothing worse than a reformed sinner’ I don’t make comments and/or say anything to other smokers so have no fear if you are a smoker when you are around me–I just might inhale some of your smoke!

Gave up drinking in 1981, gave up smoking in 2008, watching what I eat so I can eat on my 20th Leap Year birthday, what else is there for me to do?!?!? LOL

Posted July 21, 2015 by greatmartin in LIFE

One response to “I still am not doing IT after 7 years!

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You never seem short of interesting things to do Martin….:) I’d rather eat icecream !

Leave a Reply

