Q-BAR Burgers & Blues–restaurant review   Leave a comment

Q-Bar Restaurant Collage

I’ve been eating at the Sage restaurant for years and the last couple of years I noticed, and read, that they had added a place next door called Q-Bar  Burger and Blues. Someone told me they did a lunch special of a burger, fries and soda for $10 and just like last week I saw a Groupon for it so I decided to give it a try–my mistake and I should have gone into the Sage instead.

The Q-Bar may be good for a burger and/or a place to hear blues bands but as a place to dine or enjoy lunch forget it. The set up is a very long and narrow place with the bar on the right and (I didn’t really count) about 6-7 high top tables with bar seats.

 

I wasn’t aware we could have ordered off the Sage menu–their kitchen serves both places–and looking over the small menu we were given I ordered the  Cajun Pasta ($16) which was okay and had a diet coke ($2.75) while Allen had the Norah ‘burger’–a salmon sandwich–which was just one of the 5-6 sandwiches plus the burger which cost $10 including fries and soda.

 

For dessert I had the chocolate banana pudding ($8) which came with a scoop of ice cream and was a big disappointment. Allen ordered apple pie a la mode ($9) but it turned out that they didn’t have the pie and instead offered the apple crepe which was no substitute for the pie.

The check, with tip and tax, minus the Groupon, came to $37.83

 

The food was okay, the ambiance a distinct negative while the best part was Kelly, the combination barmaidand server who did a great job with good patter and an ongoing smile.

Along with the rest of the negatives their being out of apple pie at 3 PM is unexplainable and a sore point for me, a restaurant being out of an item so easily obtainable. If their delivery didn’t come, if the kitchen didn’t make any, there is an excellent French bakery just a short ride away.

 

The bottom line? I tried the Q-bar and know to go to the Sage next time.

Leave a comment